PML-N leads in Senate polls followed by PPP, PTI


.— File photo

ISLAMABAD: The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) has emerged as the largest party in the Senate followed by Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf (PTI).

According to unofficial results, the PML-N- backed candidates won majority seats from Centre and Punjab and PPP from Sindh.

The unofficial results show that the PML-N has won 15 seats, PPP 12, PTI 6, National Party 2, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party 2 while Jammiat Ulema Islam (Fazal), Jamat Islami, MQM (Pak) and PML-F won one seat each.

Ten independent candidates also got elected in the Senate Election.

The PML (N) supported candidates have won both the Senate seats from the Federal Capital Territory.

Hidayatullah, Shamim Afridi, Hilalur Rehman and Mirza Muhammad Afridi have been elected as Senators on four FATA seats.

In Punjab, eleven PML-N supported candidates have been elected Senators. PTI candidate won one seat.

In Sindh, 10 senators of PPP have been elected while a candidate of Pakistan Muslim League-F and Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan have also been elected.

In Balochistan, mostly independent candidates have won on eleven Senate seats. And in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf won five seats in Senate election.

PML (N) backed candidates Pir Sabir Shah won election on general and Dilawar Khan on technocrat seats.

Pakistan People’s Party also won two seats while JUI (F) and Jamaat-e-Islami grabbed one seat each.