ECP to hold Senate elections tomorrow


—File Photo

The Senate Elections will be held on Saturday. One hundred and thirty five candidates will contest for fifty-two Senate seats.

Twelve Senators each from Punjab and Sindh, 11 members each from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, four lawmakers from FATA, and two members from the federal capital will be elected.

Polling process will be started from 0900 and continued till 0400 in the afternoon.

The Election Commission of Pakistan, in a review meeting, has taken several decisions to ensure vote privacy during the elections.

The Commission decided that returning officers will ensure that no voter exposes his vote’s privacy and neither be allowed to take issued ballot paper outside the polling station and in case of non-compliance the returning officer will cancel the ballot paper of such persons.

It was also decided that all returning officers will have powers of full magistrate and they can suspend the electoral process by bringing such elements to ECP’s notice in case of irregularity.

Rangers or FC personnel will also be deputed outside the polling stations.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the Election Commission has finalized arrangements for polling of Senate elections tomorrow.

A spokesman of Provincial Election Commission told our Peshawar correspondent that elections will be held on seven general seats and two seats each reserved for technocrats and women.

Thirteen candidates are in the run for general seats. Similarly, eight candidates are contesting election on women and five on technocrat seats.

In Quetta, Provincial Election Commissioner Balochistan, Muhammad Naeem Majeed Jaffar told Radio Pakistan correspondent, Aftab Sherazi that 23 candidates are contesting Senate Elections from Balochistan.

Fifteen candidates will contest for seven general seats, three candidates are in race for two seats reserved for Technocrat, and five women candidates are going to contest the elections for two reserved seats.