PML-N surpasses PTI to win NA-154 by-elections



Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate Muhammad Iqbal Shah has won NA-154 Lodhran by-elections securing over one hundred thirteen thousand votes.

According to the announcement of Returning Officer, PTI’s Ali Tareen got 87,571 votes.

The voters turn out remained 52.10 per cent.

Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Marriyum Aurangzeb has felicitated Iqbal Shah.

In a statement, she said that the people of Lodhran expressed their clear trust in PMLN and results reflect that they have rejected the negative politics.

PTI’s Chief Imran Khan took on twitter to share his thoughts on his defeat, He asked his followers to keep their heads high and correct the mistakes that they made during the polls. In another tweet Khan gave the example of his years of political struggle for justice in which he was demoralized constantly but came back headstrong.

Overall ten candidates were contesting the by election. However, tough contest was expected among PPP candidate Mirza Muhammad Ali Baig, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Ali Khan Tareen and PML-N’s candidate Muhammad Iqbal Shah.

Around 4000 police and military personnel were deployed in the constituency as a preemptive measure to avoid any misconduct.