Guptill ton sees Black Caps run amok in Australia T20


—File Photo

AUCKLAND: Century-maker Martin Guptill became the highest-scoring player in Twenty20 international history as New Zealand pummelled Australia’s attack to set a 244-run target in the fifth match of the T20 tri-series on Friday.

Guptill plundered nine sixes and six fours to score 105 off 54 balls as New Zealand finished on 243 for six after winning the toss and electing to bat at Eden Park.

It took Guptill’s international T20 career total to 2,188 runs, surpassing compatriot Brendon McCullum’s 2,140, with India’s Virat Kohli the next highest on the all-time list with 1,956.

Guptill’s 49-ball century was New Zealand’s fastest T20 ton and the team total of 243 equalled the highest ever posted by the Black Caps.

He received sterling support from fellow opener Colin Munro, who also took advantage of Eden Park’s short boundaries to smash 76 off 33 balls.

In all, New Zealand’s innings included 18 sixes and 14 fours.

Australia are unbeaten so far in the series and will need to be at their best to overhaul the mammoth target and maintain their record.

Australia have already reached the series final and a New Zealand win would also guarantee them a spot in the decider at England’s expense.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Mark Chapman, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Seifert, Ben Wheeler, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

Australia: David Warner (capt), D’Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake.

Toss: New Zealand

Umpires: Paul Wilson(AUS), Shaun Haig (NZL)

TV Umpire: Wayne Knights (NZL)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)