WEB DESK: The Facebook owned WhatsApp has finally introduced the two-step verification feature. Also, the feature was under beta testing since November 2016. However, the company is working to launch this feature for Android, iOS and Windows Phone users.
Moreover, the new feature adds an extra layer of security to accounts by having a secondary method of authentication. It is noteworthy that the feature prevent others from activating you phone number without submitting six digit pass-code.
Furthermore, for the users who want to activate this feature are required to wait for the update. Also, the company updated through its blog that,”Two-step verification is an optional feature that actually doubles your account’s security. When user’s two step verification enable, any attempt to verify your phone number on WhatsApp must be done by the six digit pass-code that you made using this new feature”.
In addition, this secuirty feature is widely used among multiple digital platforms as Apple, Twitter, Google, and Instagram, have introduced two step security feature for their users.
The users need to wait for the update, however, once the app is updated, all you need to open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Two-step verification > Enable.
Also, the users can optionally enter their e-mail, once the feature will enable. Moreover, the e-mail address will allow WhatsApp to send a link through it in order to disable the verification if in case user forget the six-digit pass-code. Plus, it will keep user’s account safe too.
Moreover, after verification, user’s number will not permit re-verification on WhatsApp within seven days of last used of pass-code. Means, if a user forgets his pass-code and did not provide an e-mail for verification, then user will not be allowed re-verification on WhatsApp within the seven days of last used app. However, after seven days, re-verification will be allowed without pass-code but pending messages will be deleted during the re-verification process.
Lastly, if user’s number is re-verified on app after 30 days of last used, without pass-code, his/her account will be deleted and new one will be made after successful re-verification.
Note: The article was originally published on gadgetsnow.com