Irfan back as Pakistan announces ODI squad for Australia series

The Pakistan Cricket Boards (PCB) National Selection Committee announced on Friday a 15-member One Day International (ODI) squad against Australia.

The committee led by Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq announced the squad, which will represent Pakistan in the five-match ODI series starting from January 13- 26, 2017.

Fast bowler Mohammad Irfan is making a comeback to the side while leg-spinner Yasir Shah has been left out.

“The ODI team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions in Australia and the performances of players in the recent ODI series against West Indies and in the domestic cricket,” stated Inzamam-ul-Haq, according to the PCB media release.

“The team is a fine blend of experience and youth, and the selectors have stuck to the same combination of players selected against West Indies series earlier and believe that team will do well in the tour.”

It was further learnt that the team was finalised after consultations with Pakistan cricket Head Coach Mickey Arthur and ODI captain Azhar Ali.

Pakistan ODI Squad:

Azhar Ali (Captain), Sharjeel Khan, Baber Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafique, Umer Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmad (Vice Captain) WK, M. Rizwan, Immad Wasim, M. Nawaz, M. Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hassan Ali, Rahat Ali, M. Irfan -BusinessRecorder