By-elections on PS 117, 106, polling underway

WEB DESK: The polling is underway for by-elections on two Sindh Assembly seats PS 117 and PS 106,amid strict security arrangements on Thursday. 

According to details, the two provincial seats – PS-117 and PS-106 got vacated after Member Provincial Assembly Dr Sagheer Ahmad and Muhammad Iftikhar Alam resigned from Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and joined the Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP).

Both MPAs were elected members provincial assembly in the general election 2013 on MQM tickets. For PS 106 slot the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has nominated Sardar Abdul Samad and MQM has nominated Mehfooz Yar Khan. While Nusrat Anwar is contesting for Pakistan Terhreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Muhamamd Haroon for Rah-e-Haq Party and Jawad Sherazi is contesting for Pasban-e-Pakistan. Similarly, for PS 117, PPP has nominated Javaid Maqbool Butt and MQM has nominated Syed Muhammad Qamar Abbas Naqvi.

While Rafaqat Omar is contesting for PTI, Ziaur Rehman for Pasban-e-Pakistan, Syed Naeem Shah for Jamiat Ullama-e-Islam (Fazalur Rehman) (JUI-F) and Ali Raza for Islami Tehreek-e-Pakistan are vying for PS 117. Of the total 100 polling stations in PS 106, some 23 have been declared most sensitive while 77 polling stations are considered sensitive.

Liaqatabad, Husainabad and Azizabad areas fall within the jurisdictions of PS 106 having a total of nearly 171,000 voters will exercise their right of franchise. Similarly, out of a total of 84 polling stations in PS 117, some 40 have been declared most sensitive while 44 polling stations are declared sensitive. Pakistan Quarters, Soldier Bazaar, Martin Quarters, PIB Colony, Patel Para and Lasbella are fall within the limits of PS 117 and having a total of nearly 162,000 voters.

The law enforcement agencies have made necessary security arrangements to maintain law and order during the PS 117 and PS 106 by-elections and nearly 3000 Police, Rangers and other security personnel have been deployed for the purpose. -Business Recorder