Panama Leaks: 12-member body to meet today

WEB DESK:Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq has constituted a 12-member Parliamentary Committee on Panama Papers which would formulate the Terms of Reference (ToRs) for the investigating body and determine a deadline for submission of its report.

A notification in this regard was issued on Tuesday with the committee scheduled to hold its first meeting today (Wednesday) at 4:00 pm and complete its task within two weeks.

National Assembly Speaker constituted the Parliamentary Committee in pursuance of the motion adopted by the National Assembly on 19.5.2016 and Senate on 20.5.2016. The Speaker is authorised to replace any member of the committee on the request of the leader of the parliamentary party concerned.

According to the notification issued by the National Assembly, “The committee is mandated with considering various options for inquiring into important issues raised in the controversy over the “Panama Papers” and other reports in the media related to Off-shore companies, transfer of funds and written-off bank loans.

It will also formulate the ToRs of such forum and determine the timeline for submission of the report.” The 12-member committee comprises six members of treasury benches and six of opposition benches from both Houses (National Assembly and Senate).

The members of the Committee are Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Senator Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Senator Muhammad Ali Khan Saif, Senator Ilyas Ahmad Balour, Khawaja Muhammad Asif, MNA, Khawaja Saad Rafique, MNA, Akram Khan Durrani, MNA, Anusha Rehman Khan Advocate, MNA, Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Hussain Qureshi, MNA, Sahibzada Tariq Ullah, MNA and MNA Chaudhry Tariq Bashir Cheema. The committee has been constituted nearly a week after the announcement of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on the floor of National Assembly.-Business Recorder