Pakistan out of top eight in ICC ODI Rankings

ISLAMABAD:  Pakistan has been pushed out by West Indies from the top eight in the International Cricket Council (ICC) ODI Team Rankings announced on Wednesday.

Australia and New Zealand have retained the top two positions following the annual update. Results from 2012-13 have been dropped, while results from 2014-15 have been reduced to a weighting of 50 per cent, said an ICC press release issued here.

South Africa has swapped places with India to move into third position, while the West Indies has exchanged places with Pakistan to push the 1992 World Cup winners out of the top eight.

Other sides to gain included sixth-ranked England (103 points, up two), seventh-ranked Bangladesh (98, up one), eighth-ranked West Indies (88, up two), 10th-ranked Afghanistan (51, up four) and 11th-ranked Zimbabwe (47, up two).

A significant date on the ICC events calendar is September 30, 2017, which is the rankings cut-off date for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

The host, England, and the seven next highest-ranked sides on the ICC ODI Rankings on September 30, 2017 will qualify directly for cricket’s biggest event, while the bottom four ODI ranked sides will join the top sides from the ICC World Cricket League in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 to fight for the two remaining positions.

Although there will be another ODI team rankings annual update prior to this cut-off date, it is significant that from now on the results of all ODIs that will affect qualification will be weighted at 100 per cent whereas matches played between May 2014 and April 2016 will by then be weighted at only 50 per cent.

All the teams will have to win as many matches as possible in the forthcoming season, knowing it will help ensure direct qualification for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be staged from 30 May to 15 July in the United Kingdom.

 The top 10 in ODI Rankings include

Australia (1), New Zealand (2), South Africa (3), India (4), Sri Lanka (5), England (6), Bangladesh (7), West Indies (8), Pakistan (9) and Afghanistan (10).