India become Asia Cup T20 champions

WEB DESK: India beat Bangladesh by eight wickets in the thriller Asia Cup T20 final  at Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on Monday.

India finished their unbeaten run in the Asia Cup with a strong performance in the final. Bangladesh fought hard in phases but a victory with six balls to spare and eight wickets in hand is a pretty emphatic one in the end.

Bumrah and Ashwin were the stars for India with the ball, before Dhawan and Kohli sealed the chase with that partnership. Dhoni had played only nine balls in the tournament before today but he hit it like a dream tonight.

Hosts Bangladesh had completed their innings on 120 for five after 15 overs against India. The match was cut into a 15-over affair after rain coupled with gusty winds delayed the start for two hours. Rain hit the stadium around 6:15pm (12:15GMT), about 1:15 hours before the scheduled beginning of the match.

Thousands of fans who spent hours in the queues to collect tickets for the match were drenched or forced to take shelter under the galleries due to the unexpected downpour. A 20-minute power failure, which followed the rain, only made the matter worse.

India had won the toss and elected to field first. Both Mahmudullah and Sabbir Rehman remain unbeaten on 33 and 32 runs. Pick of the bowlers was Ravichandran Ashwin who took one wicket and gave 14 runs in three overs,

Batting first, the start was not ideal for Bangladesh. They were 30 for the lost of two wickets and 68 for three after 10 overs. They made 48 runs in last five overs.

India need 121 runs in 90 balls to win the Asia Cup T20 for the sixth time and it would be the first time that Bangladesh will become an Asian champion if they successfully restrict India under 121.