Who will be champion of PSL?

WEB DESK: After exciting 23 matches full of zeal and gusto of Pakistan Super League (PSL), Quetta Gladiators and Islamabad United are now ready to lock horns in the final team of the tournament.

The toss will take place at 8:30 p.m and match will be start at 9:00 p.m at the Dubai Cricket Stadium.

Before the tournament, Quetta Gladiators were taken as the underdogs. On the other hand, teams and fans were taking Islamabad United lightly when they lost the first two matches of the tournament.

In a question, ‘Who will win the PSL?’ on international cricket website before the tournament took-off, Quetta Gladiators got 8% and Islamabad United got 16% of votes.

Quetta Gladiators were bought by Omar Associates for $11 millions only and it has made them the cheapest team of the PSL.

Whereas, Islamabad United was bought by Leonine Group, an entity made by a group of investors just to buy a team for PSL.

The difference we can see in last few matches won by both teams is in favour of Quetta Gladiators. Islamabad United won last two matches because of one man show.

In first eliminator match, Muhammad Sami took five wickets haul and Karachi Kings all-out on the lowest score of PSL of 111 runs and Islamabad UnIted won that match easily by nine wickets. In qualifying final two of play-off against Peshawar Zalmi, who were the favourites to win that match were outclassed by a individual performance of Sharjeel Khan, who played the highest individual innings of 117 runs in just 62 balls and his team won by 50 runs.

But Quetta Gladiators have won their last two matches on the basis of overall team performance rather than on individual performances like Islamabad United.

Quetta Gladiators chased the highest total of the tournament of 202 runs against Lahore Qalandars and defended 134 runs target against Peshawar Zalmi in the first qualifying match.

Interestingly, both teams came against each other in the opening match of the PSL and now both are now in the finals of the first PSL final.