PSL Shooting Star Trophy unveiled

DUBAI:  With power packed cricket action ready to take place the winning team of the first-ever Pakistan Super League will win The Shooting Star,  a specially designed trophy by Swarovski.

The Shooting Star was unveiled Wednesday here in a ceremony attended by Najam Sethi, Chairman PSL Governing Council, Naveed Asghar, Chief Marketing Officer HBL, Andrew Mojica, Managing Director Swarovski Middle East.

The star studded press conference saw the Shooting Star being unveiled by Wasim Akram, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed, Azhar Ali and Shoaib Malik.

Also present were the five team owners:  Salman Iqbal, Javed Afridi, Nadeem Omar, Fawad Rana and Aamer Zaidi.

The Shooting Star carries huge symbolic value since it is the first winning trophy of the tournament and it encapsulates the spirit of our League.

“Our story is a story of hope and positivity and The Shooting Star is a perfect depiction of this spirit,” said Sethi.

Andrew Mojica of Swarovski shared his enthusiasm about the arrangement. “We are delighted that the Pakistan Super League has chosen our Shooting Star trophy for the tournament, hopefully this is the first of many collaborations to come”.

Following the trophy unveiling, Wasim Akram, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shoaib Malik and Azhar Ali spoke to the media.

Peshawar Zalmi captain Shahid Afridi announced that Javed Afridi, the Peshawar Zalmi owner will pay for the entry of every Zalmi fan wearing the team’s shirt.

Sharing his thoughts, Afridi said: “ This will be a great platform for young players to showcase their talent at a global stage”.

Former Pakistani captain Wasim Akram, Director Cricket of Islamabad United said: “ It has taken a long time for this to happen but I am glad that we have our own T20 league. Pakistanis will own this product proudly and I urge the fans to come to the stadium as they will see some exciting cricket”.

The HBL Pakistan Super League is bringing 24 action packed cricket games to Dubai and Sharjah from February 4 to 23.