Islamabad United become Pakistan Super League champion

WEB DESK: Islamabad United beat Quetta Gladiators and become the first champions of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Dubai Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

Dwayne Smith 73 runs in 51 balls and Brad Haddin 61 runs in 39 balls helped Islamabad United to win the match easily by six wickets.

Earlier, Islamabad United won the match and put Quetta Gladiators to bat first in the final.

Batting first, Quetta Gladiators posted 174 for the lost of seven wickets.

Ahmed Shahzad made 64 runs in 39 balls with the help of nine fours and a six. Kumar Sangakara made 55 runs in 32 balls. He hit seven fours and a couple of sixes.

Andre Russell is the highest wicket-taker of PSL by taking 16 wickets. He took 3 for 36 in the final.

In reply, Islamabad United dominated the match from the very first ball and captain of Islamabad United captain finished the match with a single and won the Shooting Star trophy of PSL.

Dwayne Smith was awarded man of the match award for his magnificent batting — 73 runs in 51 balls.

Andre Russel was awarded top wicket-taker award of the tournament and best bowler of the final match.

Umer Akmal was awarded three awards for his remarkable performance including best fielder, best batsman and leading run-scorer.

Ravi Bopara was awarded the most valuable player of the tournament.