All you need to know about PSL is here!

WEB DESK: In this story we will tell you each and every thing you should know about our very own and first Pakistan Super League (PSL) starting in a couple of days. All the five PSL teams have arrived in United Arab Emirates (UAE).


Four out of five teams of PSL belong to the capital of four provinces capital and one team is from federal capital.

Karachi Kings –Sindh                                                                                                                               Lahore Qalandars- Punjab
Peshawar Zalmi- Khybar Pakhtoon Khuwa
Quetta Gladiators- Balochistan
Islamabad United- Federal capital

Captains of PSL franchises

Karachi Kings- Shoaib Malik
Lahore Qalandars- Azhar Ali
Peshawar Zalmi- Shahid Afridi
Quetta Gladiators- Sarfraz Ahmed
Islamabad United- Misbah-ul-Haq

Iconic players of first season

Karachi Kings- Shoaib Malik
Lahore Qalandars- Chris Gayle
Peshawar Zalmi- Shahid Afridi
Quetta Gladiators- Kevin Pieterson
Islamabad United- Shane Watson

Head coaches of franchises

Karachi Kings- Micky Arthur
Lahore Qalandars- Paddy Upton
Peshawar Zalmi- Muhammad Akram
Quetta Gladiators- Moin Khan
Islamabad United- Dean Jones

Cost of franchises

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) sold all five PSL franchises for $93 (Rs. 985 crores) million for a ten-year period. PCB will get $9.3 millions per year.

Karachi Kings- $2.6m per year
Lahore Qalandars- $2.5m per year
Peshawar Zalmi- $1.6m per year
Quetta Gladiators- $1.1m per year
Islamabad United- $1.5m per year

Owners of teams

There were seven bidders who showed their interest to buy teams of PSL. Among those who missed out the bid were Mobilink and Arif Habib Group.

Karachi Kings- ARY Group
Lahore Qalandars- Qatar Oil
Peshawar Zalmi- Haeir Group
Quetta Gladiators- Omar Associates
Islamabad United- Leonine Global Sports

Commentators for PSL

  1. Bazid Khan
  2. Ramiz Raja
  3. Tom Moody
  4. Alan Wilkins
  5. Pat Symcox
  6. Eric Gowder
  7. Tariq Saeed
  8. Aqeel Samar
  9. Haroon Rashid


There will be only two venues for PSL which are Dubai and Sharjah and they will host all 24 matches of the tournament.

Dubai will host 15 matches and Sharjah will host 9 matches of PSL.

Sponsor of PSL

The title sponsorship goes to Habib Bank Limited (HBL) for a period of three years for $6 million.
Other sponsors include Brighto Paints, J. Triptum, Zong, Giggly, Boom Boom Bubble and ZIC Lubricant.

Fixture of PSL

FIXFormat of PSL

All the five teams will play eight matches each, it will result in two matches for every team with other teams.

The top four teams will qualify for the play-offs. The play-off format in picture is given below