Zimbabwe win toss, bat against New Zealand

HARARE: Zimbabwe won the toss and surprisingly elected to bat first as they looked to close out a three-match series against New Zealand with victory in Tuesday’s second one-day international.

With early morning starts at Harare Sports Club, conditions generally favour the side bowling first and so it is highly unusual for teams to win the toss and bat.

The only two teams to do so at the venue in the past three years — Pakistan in 2013 and Australia in 2014 — both suffered shock defeats at the hands of Zimbabwe.

The hosts named an unchanged side after their superb seven-wicket win at the same venue on Sunday, while New Zealand gave batsman Colin Munro his first ODI outing in almost two years as he replaced James Neesham.


Zimbabwe: Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza Butt, Elton Chigumbura (capt), Sean Williams, Regis Chakabva (wk), Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya, Tinashe Panyangara, Christopher Mpofu.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wk), Nathan McCullum, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan, Ish Sodhi.

Source: AFP