Polling continues in NA-19 Haripur without break

PESHAWAR: Polling at NA-19 Haripur continued without any break as 577,480 registered voters, including 259,319 women, in the constituency, are exercising their right of vote.

It is for the first time that bio-metric system has been introduced on experimental basis on 30 polling stations while nine candidates are in the run including Babar Nawaz Khan of Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz), Raja Amir Zaman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Tahir Qureshi of Pakistan People’s Party and independence candidates for a single seat of National Assembly.

According to police control, Haripur, around 2000 officials of the security forces, and around 13000 policemen along with  more than 20 platoons of FC have been deployed for 513 polling stations.