LG election to be held on May 30:EC

PESHAWAR: The election campaign for Local Government election to be held on May 30 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa would end at midnight between 28th and 29th May.

KP Election Commission authority said polling would continue from 08:00
am to 05:00 pm however voters present at polling stations would be allowed to cast votes after expiry of the deadline.

The local government election for village and neighborhood councils would be held on non-party basis while elections on tehsil and district council would be on party basis. The concerned union councils for district, tehsil and town have been declared as ward wherein from each ward election would be contested for a single seat of district, tehsil and town council.

The number of general seats for election on village and neighborhood councils would be 5 to 10 on population basis wherein at each village and neighborhood council two seats for women and one seat each for laborer, farmer, youth and minority has been reserved.

The candidate securing maximum votes at general seat from village and
neighborhood council would be declared as Nazim while the runner-up would be selected as naib Nazim.

For maintenance of security the respective agencies have identified the
sensitive and most sensitive polling stations where proper security cordon would be provided. The printing of ballot papers has been completed and are being dispatched to the respective constituencies under proper security.

The ECP has imposed complete ban on the visit of the government officials and public representative to the local council of any ward after announcement of LG election schedule.

The election commission has appealed to the people to maintain law and order on the day of polling so that this national cause could be executed through a discipline manner.

As many as 84,420 candidates are left in the field to contest for 41762 seats of different categories for local bodies elections 2015 scheduled to be held on May 30 this month.

According to Provincial Election Commission, 5480 candidates are in run for 978 district council wards while 5907 will try their luck on 978 general seats of tehsil and town council wards respectively.

As many as 39079 candidates are eying for 23111 general seats, 7681 candidates for 6678 women seats, 15700 candidates for 3339 peasant/workers seats, 14224 candidates for 3339 youth seats and 349 candidates for 3339 non-Muslim seats respectively.

To provide congenial atmosphere to voters, the Election Commission has
formed 11 211 polling stations including 3428 for male, 3059 for female and 4724 combined. In Peshawar, 1003 polling stations including 518 male, 437 female and 46 combined have been setup.

No political party or candidate would be allowed to setup its polling
booth in premises of polling stations and candidate in premises of polling stations would be allowed to cast his vote after expiry of schedule time.

A voter will cast seven vote including on white ballot paper for general seat, pink for women seat, light green for labour/peasant seat, yellow for youth seat, brown for minority seat , orange for district member and light gray for Tehsil/town council member respectively.