HEC black-lists 20 scholars of various varsities

HYDERABAD: The authorities of Higher Education Commission (HEC) have black-listed 20 scholars of different universities with prohibition not to supervise the research of M.Phil candidates.

They have also withdrawn all HEC benefits including foreign visits and allowances on charges of violation of plagiarism policy of the Commission.

According to details which were displayed at the official website of HEC, out of 20 scholars, six belong to University of Sindh Jamshoro. These include Dr. Abdul Sattar Almani, Muhammad Aslam Kamboh, Muhammad Aslam Chaudhry of Department of Educational Management, Dr. Azhar Ali Shah, Dr. Imdad Ismaili and Dr. Lachamn Das Dhomeja of the Institute of Information Technology.

The other scholars of different universities of the country who have been black listed by HEC included Dr. Jalal Uddin Noori Dean Islamic Studies University of Karachi, Dr. Abdul Quddus Suhaib of Islamic Studies Bahauddin Zikria University Multan, Dr. Nisar Muhammad, Dr. Saleem-ur-Rehman, Dr. Niaz Muhammad of Department of Islamic Theology Islamia College University of Peshawar, M. Hassan, S. Nadeem, K. Khalique and I. Parveen of the Department of  Zoology and Bioinformatics GCU Faisalabad, Dr. Javed Badsha Department of Urdu Islamia College University Peshawar, Dr. Muhammad Sher Department of Computer Sciences International  Islamic University Islamabad, Dr, Shamraz Firdouse, Dr. Mushtaq Ahmed, Dr. M. Nawaz and Dr. Masroor Ikram of Pakistan Institute of Engineering and Applied Sciences.

The sources of University of Sindh Jamshoro informed APP that after receiving the letter of Higher Education Commission regarding black-listing of the scholars a week back, the University management had issued show cause notices to the concerned asking them to clarify their position.

The replies of the scholars are expected on March 16, 2014, the sources informed.