ATC issues arrest warrants of Dr Tahirul Qadri, others

LAHORE: An anti-terrorism court on Friday issued non-bailable arrest warrants of ten persons including Pakistan Awami Tehreek leader Dr Tahir ul Qadri.

ATC-IV Judge Rai Ayub Marth passed the orders while hearing a case registered with Depalpur City police station.

Earlier, Inspector Aftab Sabir appeared before the court and submitted that PAT workers took out a protest rally in the limits of Depalpur City police station in 2014 and attacked police besides committing ransacking.

He said that police had already arrested a number of persons involved in the case but Dr Tahir who instigated the protesters for clash by his provocative speeches  and nine others could not be arrested yet.

He pleaded the  court to issue arrest warrants of the accused including  Dr Tahir ul Qadri.

At this, the court issued non-bailable arrest warrants  of the accused and directed police to submit a comprehensive report on March 27 besides adjourning the matter.