Golf: McIlroy wins 2014 Race to Dubai crown

BELEK, Turkey: World number one Rory McIlroy on Sunday was assured of capturing the 2014 Race to Dubai crown, rewarding the top European PGA Tour golfer of the year.

The Northern Irishman was not playing this week in the season’s penultimate tournament in Belek, Turkey, but made it past the post anyway when none of his nearest challengers – Sergio Garcia, Jamie Donaldson or Marcel Siem – were able to win.

That meant that no player could overhaul British Open and PGA Championship winner McIroy in next week’s season-ending finale in Dubai.

It is the second time in three years that he has won the Race to Dubai title.

Source: APP