Cricket: Pakistan bats in first Australia Test

DUBAI- Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq won the toss and decided to bat in the first Test against Australia in Dubai on Wednesday.

Pakistan, without their ace spinner Saeed Ajmal who was last month suspended for illegal bowling action, gave debuts to leg-spinner Yasir Shah and paceman Imran Khan.

They have also included a second spinner, left-armer Zulfiqar Babar.

Australia handed Test caps to allrounder Mitchell Marsh and left-armer Steve O’Keefe, and second spinner to Nathan Lyon.

The second and final Test is in Abu Dhabi from October 30.


Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Rahat Ali, Imran Khan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Zulfiqar Babar, Yasir Shah.

Australia: Michael Clarke (capt), David Warner, Chris Rogers, Alex Doolan, Steven Smith, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Johnson, Steve O’Keefe, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon.

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Marais Erasmus (RSA)
TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)