Premier Football League begins September 20

ISLAMABAD:The 11th Pakistan Premier Football League will be staged at three different venues across the country from September 20 with a total of 12 teams competing in the extravaganza.

The three venues where the matches will be played include Islamabad, Karachi and Lahore. The matches in Islamabad will begin from September 22 at Jinnah Football Stadium while the matches at Lahore will take start after Eid Ul Azha from October 13,says a press release issued here.

The first match will be played between K-Electric and National Bank of Pakistan Football Teams at KPT Stadium.

A total of 132 matches will be played between 12 teams which are reduced from 16 to 12 to raise the competitiveness in the league. Teams include KRL, K-Electric, Wapda, PAF, Army, PIA, Muslim FC, KPT, NBP, Afghan FC, Railway and Baloch FC Quetta.

It is pertinent to mention that the winner teams of previous Pakistan Premier Football League (PPFL) include KRL: 4 times; Wapda: 4 times: Army: 2 times.

The President Pakistan Football Federation Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat while appreciating the efforts of his team has said that the continuous holding of PPFL successfully for ten years is a worthy achievement. He further said that the PPFL has certainly contributed a lot to raise the standard of football in Pakistan.