West Indies and Pakistan gain places on ICC committee

MELBOURNE: The West Indies and Pakistan will have representation on the International Cricket Council’s all-powerful executive committee alongside the “Big Three” nations India, Australia and England, the ICC said on Saturday June 28, 2014.

West Indies Cricket Board president David Cameron and Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Najam Sethi were elected at the ICC’s annual conference in Melbourne along with India, England and Australia that are permanent representatives to the body’s five-member executive committee. The committee will be chaired by Cricket Australia’s Wally Edwards.

The ICC board also ratified the composition of other committees at the conference. Clarke will now chair the ICC’s Finance and Commercial Affairs Committee, while New Zealand Cricket director Martin Snedden will chair the Governance Review Committee, a team chaired by Richardson will review the anti-corruption processes whereas Cricket South Africa was the only full member to not gain a representative on any of them.

The conference received an update by former senior British police officer Ronnie Flanagan, the chairman of the Anti-Corruption and Security Unit (ACSU), “Yes, of course it’s a threat, we have these unscrupulous individuals traveling around the world pitching up wherever cricket is played and we have to make sure we disrupt all their efforts to engage with players, umpires, grounds men or whatever. The overwhelming majority of cricket played is clean and the cricketers who are playing it are clean.”