India’s Modi takes oath as the 15th Prime Minister

NEW DELHI: After a historic election victory, Narendra Modi took oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India here on Monday, Aaj News reports.

Modi was sworn in by President Pranab Mukherjee ten days after a historic win in the world’s biggest election that gave his party the first parliamentary majority in 30 years.

The oath taking ceremony was attended by top politicians and leaders of neighbouring countries.

Leaders who attended the ceremony were Prime Minister of Pakistan Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai, Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay, Mauritius Prime Minister Navinchandra Ramgoolam and Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala.