ECC approves Rs2bn Ramazan Package on essential commodities

ISLAMABAD: Economic Coordination Committee of the Cabinet (ECC) Friday approved the Ramazan Relief Package-2014 for up to Rs.2 billion to be provided on essential commodities, being sold at Utility Stores outlets.

The ECC which met here under the chairmanship of Finance Minister Senator Mohammad Ishaq Dar, approved the subsidy to be provided on about 17 essential items at Utility Stores outlets across the country during Ramazan.

The subsidy to be provided on wheat flour is Rs.6 per kilogram, while on ghee and oil a subsidy of Rs.10 per kg would be provided.

Similarly on gram, gram pulse, gram flour, dates, rice, broken rice, squashes, syrups, milk (tetra pack), spices pulses moong, mash and masoor a subsidy of Rs.10 per kg would be provided, whereas Rs 50 per kg subsidy would be provided on black tea.

The Ramazan Package 2014 would be effective from June 23.

Earlier, the ECC was informed by Secretary Petroleum and Natural Resources that recently the Mari Petroleum Company Ltd (MPCL) has discovered additional gas in Pirkoh formation of Mari D&P Lease area and based on the initial test results and broad assessment of reservoirs size, approximately 06 MMCFD is projected to be available for supply at its natural specs (raw gas) and pressure for an estimated initial period of 18 months.

The ECC gave approval to the proposal that 06 MMCFD gas which will be available for an estimated period of 18 months, to be allocated to Thermal Power Station Guddu (TPSG) of WAPDA being in the vicinity of MPCL’s field and capable to off-take the gas readily.

The ECC also approved the summary of Ministry of Water and Power for issuance of sovereign guarantee by Ministry of Finance in respect of indicative terms and conditions for syndicated term finance facility up to Rs.31 billion for the power sector.

The meeting was attended by Khawaja Mohammad Asif, Minster for Water and Power, Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi, Minister for Industries and Production, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources, Zahid Hamid, Minister for Science and Technology, Sikandar Hayat Khan Bosan, Minister for National Food Security, Khawaja Saad Rafiq, Minister for Railways, Ms. Anusha Rehman Khan, MOS for I.T & Telecom, Federal Secretaries and senior officials.