People respect parliamentarians despite misperceptions: Pervaiz

ISLAMABAD: Minister for Information and Broadcasting Pervaiz Rashid on Tuesday said people respected parliamentarians despite misperceptions created by the undemocratic forces.

Speaking in National Assembly on a motion under Rule 244, he said people had rendered sacrifices for supremacy of the Constitution and for strengthening democracy.

“There is no difference between people of Pakistan and members of the Parliament,” he added.

The Minister was responding to remarks made by PTI member Asad Umar about the financial integrity of the parliamentarians.

The motion was moved by MNAs Asad Umer, Col (Retd) Amirullah Marwat, Dr Imran Khattak, Ayesha Gulalai, Dr Arif Alvi, Nafeesa Inayatullah and Shafqat Mahmood for constitution of a special committee comprising members National Assembly to investigate allegation of non-payment of taxes by a number of parliamentarians.

Pervaiz Rashid supported the motion and said, let the process of constitution of committee continue and further comments on the issue should be avoided.

Minister for Water and Power Khawaja Muhammad Asif said all institutions protect the interest of their members, but sometimes members of the assembly in their desire for self accountability cross limits.

He said Parliament is the most sacred institution and it is inappropriate, if a member vilifies other members. Nobody should belittle the fellow members of Parliament.

The Minister said 180 million people fully took part in the elections of May last year and expressed their confidence in the process.

“People have trust and confidence in the democratic process.”

Khawaja Asif said there were rules, regulations and mechanisms in the National Assembly to hold accountability of members.

PTI chief Imran Khan, Makhdooom Javed Hashmi, Makhdoom Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Asad Umer stressed the formation of the committee arguing that the financial affairs of the Parliamentarians should be transparent.

After the discussion, treasury and opposition benches agreed to form the committee and Speaker National Assembly was mandated to constitute the committee.

Source: APP