Only democracy can lead country towards prosperity: Qaim

HYDERABAD: Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah has said that only democracy can lead the country towards the progress and PPP rendered sacrifices for strengthening the democracy in the country.

He was addressing a meeting of PPP Hyderabad division here at the resident of former Sindh Minister Syed Ali Nawaz Shah Rizvi.

He said that there is no space for fundamentalism, extremism and terrorism in the country and the democracy is the only solution to address these issues.

The meeting which was attended by the PPP divisional and districts office bearers, was convened to review the arrangements for observing the 25th death anniversary of founder of PPP and former Prime Minister Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto on April 4.

Qaim Ali Shah, who is also the President of PPP Sindh said that passage of 1973 Constitution with consensus of all political parties was one of the great efforts of Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto.

The Constitution guaranteed the rights of all people of the country irrespective of any discrimination, he said and added that some vested interests are trying to demoralize the minority communities, which will not be tolerated at any cost.

He said that the minorities have same rights, which are being availed by the Muslims of the country and the government will provide complete protection of their rights. He added that conspiracy was hatched under the name of minorities, but the government has successfully foiled the conspiracy.

The CM further said that the former President and Co-Chairperson PPP Asif Ali Zaradi has the important role in restoring the democratic system in the country and the young leadership of the party in shape of PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari is also striving in this direction.

He said that death anniversary of PPP founder and former Prime Minister Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto will be observed in Larkana with traditional enthusiasm.

The senior vice president PPP Senator Moula Bux Chandio also addressed the participants of the meeting.

Among others, Dr Sikandar Mehindro, Pir Amjad Ali Shah Jilani, Jam Khan
Shoro, Arbab Wazir Memon, Kamal Khan Chaang, Dr Sikandar Shoro, Rafique Jamali, Doust Muhammad Jessar, Dr Talat Mehisar, Fayaz Butt, Shagufta Jummani, Dr. Tehseen Shaikh, Zia Abbas Shah Rizvi, Ali Nawaz Shah Rizvi, Syed Aijaz Ali shah, Abdul Karim Soomro, Imdad Pitafi, Amir Ali Shah Jamot, Zahid Bhurgari, Aftab Khanzada, Amir Ali Shah Hashmi, Ali Muhammad Walhari, Ghulam Qadir Chandio, Senator Aajiz Dhamra, Sadiq Memon, Abdul Jabbar Khan, Kulsoom Chandio, Hina Dastagir and Farheen Mughal also attended the meeting.