Cricketers mentally toughened in training camp: Moin Khan

KARACHI: Newly Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) appointed extensive 6-member selection committee Tuesday named 36 cricketers for the Summer Training Camp starting in Lahore from May 6.

“Players will go through a rigorous training in the conditioning camp and mentally toughened for international cricket ahead,” Chief selector Moin Khan told a media at a joint news conference at the National Stadium here.

NCA Chief Muhammad Akram, who is also member selection committee and Director Media and Coordination and Implementation Amjad Hussain were also present on the occasion.

Earlier selection committee which also included Salim Yousuf, Shoaib Muhammad, Ijaz Ahmed, Wajahatullah Wasti held under three hours meeting to finalize the name of 36-player for the summer camp.

While discarded Test opener Yasir Hameed, former Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal were not invited in the training camp after their disappointing performances in ICC World T20 where Pakistan crashed out in the league rounds.

“We are holding this Summer training camp to raise the standard of their fitness which is of key importance in international cricket,” former Pakistan captain said.

“Form and fitness is our top criteria for the selection of Pakistan team,” he maintained. He said he was looking forward to enhancement of fitness level in the camp.

He said an extensive plan has been worked out by Muhammad Akram to train the players with stress on the top fitness.

Akram said organizing the summer camp was has been arranged because of lack of Pakistan team’s international activity.

“Both short-term and long term goals and focus on next year’s World Cup is part of this training camp,” he added.

He said fitness screening of all the players will be done and record and files of all the players will be maintained.

Responding to a questioner with reference to Pakistan’s fielding coach Julian Fonetain observation, that Pakistan players are not inclined to hard training and fitness, Akram said they planned their own things in summer camp. Players invited for the camp: Openers: Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshaid, Sharjeel Khan, Taufiq Umer, Shan Masood, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Khurram Manzoor. Middle order batsmen: Misbah-ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Umer Akmal, Azhar Ali, Faisal Iqbal, Sohaib Maqsood, Harris Sohail, Fawad Alam. All-Rounders: Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi, Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti. Spinners: Abdur Rehman, Zulfiqar Babar, Raza Hassan, Atif Maqbool, Yasir Shah. Fast bowlers: Umer Gul, Mohammad Talha, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Sohail Tanvir, M.Sami. Wicket-keepers: Sarfaraz Ahmed, Adnan Akmal.

Source: APP