Blind T20 Cricket from April 24

ISLAMABAD: The National Bank of Pakistan (NBP) Twenty-20 Blind Cricket Tournament will be staged at two different venues Islamabad and Abbottabad from April 24 to 30 with 12 teams battling it for the title.

Talking to APP, Pakistan Blind Cricket Council (PBCC) Chairman Syed Sultan Shah said the teams participating in the mega event include Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, Multan, Quetta, Bahawalpur, Okara, Gujranwala, Azad Kashmir, Peshawar, Faisalabad and PBCC Young Stars.

Sultan Shah said we will be selecting a total of 30 probables for the national team to play in the World Cup to be held in Cape Town, South Africa in December. “From the 30 probables a final squad of 17 players will be finalized,” he said.

The Blind Cricket World Cup (BCWC) will be held from December 1 to 15. Pakistan has won two World Cups in 2002 and in 2006. Sultan Shah said a two-member selection committee including Nafees Ahmed and Tahir Mehmood has been formed to pick the players.
Sultan Shah also requested the Punjab Government to build a stadium for the national blind cricket team so that they don’t have to go from pillar to post for  organizing matches.

“We have got 45 kanals of land at Ferozepur, Lahore but we don’t have sufficient funds to build a stadium therefore I request the higher authorities to help us,” he said.