West Indies win toss, bowls in 2nd test against New Zealand

WELLINGTON: West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and chose to bowl on the opening day of the second cricket test against New Zealand at the Basin Reserve on Wednesday.

The pitch is a deep green hue and both captains had been clear in the days leading up to the match that they would bowl if they won what seems an influential toss.

The West Indies named the same lineup that drew the first test at Dunedin’s University Oval, while New Zealand made just one change. Kane Williamson returns in place of Aaron Redmond at No. 3 in the batting order after missing the first test with a broken thumb.

New Zealand retained leg spinner Ish Sodhi in its match XI and McCullum said the pitch was likely to offer help to the spinners later in the match.


New Zealand: Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum, Corey Anderson, B.J. Watling, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner.

West Indies: Kieran Powell, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Dinesh Ramdin, Darren Sammy, Shane Shillingford, Tino Best, Shannon Gabriel.

Umpires: Nigel Llong, New Zealand and Ian Gould, England.

Third umpire: Paul Reiffel, Australia. Match referee: Roshan Mahanama, Sri Lanka. (AP)