Six additional judges of LHC take oath

LAHORE: Newly-appointed six additional judges of the Lahore High Court (LHC) took oath of their office on Tuesday. LHC Chief Justice Umar Ata Bandial administered oath to Justice Mahmood Ahmed Bhatti,Justice Muhammad Tariq Abbasi, Justice Arshad Mahmood Tabassum,Justice Ch. Muhammad Masood Jahangir,Justice Sadaqat Ali Khan and Justice M.Sohail Iqbal Bhatti in a ceremony held at LHC Judges’ lounge.

LHC Judges,federal & provincial law officers,office bearers of lawyers’ bodies,families of judges and a large number of senior lawyers attended the ceremony.

After the induction of six additional judges,the strength of LHC judges has become 45.

President Mamnoon Hussain on Sunday approved appointment of said judges on the advice of Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif and recommendations of the parliamentary judicial commission.