KP Law Minister Israrullah Gandapur laid to rest in Kulachi

PESHAWAR: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Law Minister Israrullah Gandapur was laid to rest in Kulachi on Thursday. The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government has announced a three-day mourning in the province over killing of Law Minister Israrullah Gandapur.

He was killed in a suicide attack on Wednesday, The funeral prayers of eight people including the minister, who were killed in the attack, was offered at Degree College Kulachi at 2:30 pm. He he was laid to rest at his native graveyard.

Chief Minister Khyber Pakthunkhwa Pervez Khattak, who visited Dera Ismail Khan along with other parliamentarians, met the family of the Israrullah Khan Gandapur and expressed deep sympathies with them.

He paid tribute to Israrullah and also prayed for the eternal peace of the departed soul and for the bereaved family to bear this loss with patience.

Talking to media men, Chief Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Pervez Khattak strongly condemned the killing of the minister. He said certain quarters did not want peace in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and in rest of the country. He said if the situation was not resolved through dialogue, more options would be used because the PTI have lost today a very committed worker.

Earlier, besides others the funeral of the late Minister was attended by his cousin and Khyber Pakthunkhwa Revenue Minister Ali Amin Khan Gnadapur, other relatives, friends, and people from different walk of life.

On Wednesday, at least 8 people including Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Law Minister Israrullah Gandapur were killed and over 30 injured, when a suicide bomber entered the home of Gandapur in the Kulachi area and detonated his explosive-laden vest.

The people had gathered at his residence to greet him on Eid-ul-Azha. After the blast the injured were shifted to the Kolachi Tehsil Hospital, while those in critical condition were taken to the District Headquarters Hospital in Dera Ismail Khan.

Israrullah Gandapur was elected from PK-67 (DI Khan IV) as an independent candidate during the 2013 general election and later joined the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).