ECP set to suspend 52 lawmakers

ISLAMABAD: More than 50 members of the national and provincial assemblies and Senate are likely to be suspended over their failure to submit details of their assets till expiry of deadline today, media reported Monday.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has prepared a notification to suspend 52 parliamentarians. It is likely to be issued today after Secretary ECP’s signature, sources said.

ECP says 1117 lawmakers have so far filed their asset details while 18 more legislators followed the suit today.

According to ECP, three Senators, 13 members each from National Assembly and KPK Assembly, 11 from Sindh Assembly, eight of Punjab Assembly and four MPAs from the Balochistan Assembly have yet to file their statements of assets.

Those who have failed to comply with ECP orders are Senator Rehman Malik, Senator Faisal Raza Abidi, Senator Mustafa Kamal, MNAs Shaharyar Afridi, Nasir Khan Khattak, Dawar Khan Kundi, Muhammad Nazir Khan, Qaisar Jamal, Maher Ishtiaq Ahmed, Abul Rehman Kanjo, Azra Fazl Pechoho, Sardar Kamal Chang, Khawaja Sohail Mansoor, Shahjahan Baloch, Molvi Agha Muhammad and others.