By-election: Polling begins in Faisalabad, DG Khan

FAISALABAD: Polling has begun on three provincial constituencies in Punjab and Balochistan, media reports.

PML-N, PTI and PPP have fielded their candidates in the by-election.

PML-N’s Khawaja Liaquat Ali, Sheikh Khurram Shahzad (PTI) and PPP’s Rana Mushtaq are contesting on PA-72, Faisalabad. The seat fell vacant after PML-N’s Khawaja Islam was disqualified for having a fake degree.

The PML-N has now awarded ticket to his brother, Khawaja Liaquat.

Polling has also begun in Dera Ghazi Khan. This seat was also vacated after JUI-F’s Mir Badshah Qaisrani was declared ineligible in a fake degree case. PML-N candidate Begum Shamoona Ambreen, independent candidate Mumtaz Ahmed Bhutto Qaisrani, Mumtaz Hussain Qaisrani and seven other candidates are vying for the provincial assembly seat.

Fateh Buledi of National Party is certain to win in Ketch district of Balochistan after JUI-F and PML-N withdrew their candidates.