PP-150 recounting: Mian Marghoob of PML-N wins again

LAHORE: Mian Marghoob of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) won yet again by 453 votes after the recounting of votes at PP-150 Lahore was completed on Wednesday.

Earlier, the recounting of votes at PP-150 Lahore was halted as the presiding officers of the nine polling stations did not reach the session court following the order of the Returning Officer.

Returning Officer of PP-150 Lahore Javed Iqbal had summoned the presiding officers to the session court for recounting of the votes.

The recounting of votes started on Monday and completed after three days today.

After the recounting of votes, Mian Marghoob emerged as the winner again by 453 votes whose victory had been challenged by the runner-up, Mehar Wajid of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI).

Earlier, a panic was created when it was revealed that two bags of votes were missing. However, later both bags were found from the record room of ECP and produced before the RO.

All the participating candidates, including Marghoob Ahmed of PML-N, who was declared winner and the runner-up, Mehar Wajid of PTI, were also present on the occasion.

After the by-elections of August 22, the ECP results showed that PTI’s Mehar Wajid had lost by 375 votes. Later, PTI’s candidate filed an application seeking recount before said RO but he rejected his plea. However, the PTI rejected the poll result and staged demonstrations demanding a recount of votes.