1st Test: Zimbabwe elect to bat VS Pakistan

HARARE: Zimbabwe won the toss on Tuesday and elected to bat in the first Test match against Pakistan at Harare, media reported.

Pakistan have already won the ODI and T-20 match series.

After the toss, Misbah said: “We do not mind batting first here. Stats show team batting first won last three games here.”

Mohammad Hafeez is fit enough to be playing, and Khurram Manzoor is also in for his first game for Pakistan since Jan 2010. Junaid Khan and Rahat Ali are the two quicks, and Pakistan won’t mind bowling last on this pitch, considering the two spinners in Saeed Ajmal and Abdur Rehman.

After winning the toss, Hamilton Masakadza said: “Always does a bit here early in the morning.”

When asked about batting last, does not think the wicket will deteriorate too much. So no Taylor, no Sean Williams, no Kyle Jarvis, no Graeme Cremer, the last three due to monetary issues.

Zimbabwe have gone for the experienced offspin of Prosper Utseya for the lone slow bowler. Brian Vitori has been ignored, but Tino Mawoyo is back at the top of the order after recovering from groin surgery

Brendan Taylor is not playing this Test. His wife’s had a baby and he’s chosen to be with his family. Hamilton Masakadza will lead Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe squad
BRM Taylor*†, RW Chakabva, TL Chatara, E Chigumbura, H Masakadza, SW Masakadza, TMK Mawoyo, N Mushangwe, R Mutumbami, T Panyangara, V Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, P Utseya, BV Vitori, MN Waller.

Pakistan squad
Misbah-ul-Haq*, Abdur Rehman, Adnan Akmal†, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Ehsan Adil, Faisal Iqbal, Junaid Khan, Khurram Manzoor, Mohammad Hafeez, Rahat Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Shan Masood, Wahab Riaz, Younis Khan.