Balochistan Assembly: Yaqoob Nasar, Rauf Lala elected senators

QUETTA: Sardar Yaqoob Khan Nasar of the Pakistan Muslim League-N and Abdul Rauf Lala of the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) were elected senators in the elections for two vacant seats of the Senate from Balochistan on Thursday.

The polling for the two seats, held on the Balochistan Assembly premises, started at 9am and lasted till 4pm. Provincial Election Commissioner Syed Sultan Bayazeed was the returning officer.

Three candidates — Sardar Yaqoob Nasar (PML-N), Abdul Rauf Lala (PkMAP) and Wali Muhammad Kakar (Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam-F) were in the run for the Senate seats.

Fifty-two lawmakers out of 63 members of the Balochistan Assembly cast their vote for the two Senate seats.

According to unofficial results announced by the returning officer, Sardar Yaqoob Khan Nasar clinched 24 votes while Abdul Rauf Lala secured 22 votes.

Wali Muhammad Kakar of JUI-F could fetch only five votes while one vote was rejected by the returning officer.

The two seats had been lying vacant since the Pakistan Peoples Party senator Haji Lashkari Raisani and Maulana Muhammad Khan Shirani of the JUI-F resigned from their seats.