Unofficial results: PPP candidate wins NA-229 Tharparkar in re-polling

HYDERABAD: Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Faqir Sher Muhammad Bilalani won the NA-229 seat from Tharparkar in re-polling held on Saturday, according to unofficial results.

Bilalani secured 1,774 votes in the fresh polls while his opponent, Arbab Toghachi, got 229 votes.

Bilalani obtained a total of 86,592 votes from 279 polling stations. Toghachi finished at a close second with 84,922 votes, according to unofficial results.

As per unofficial results from eight polling stations in NA-230, Noor Muhammad Shah Jilani of PPP polled 4291 votes while independent candidate Shah Mehmood Qureshi polled 1510 votes.

According to unofficial results from 11 polling stations in PS-63, Dost Muhammad Rahimoon of PPP polled 3161 votes while Ghulam Haider Samijo of Peoples Muslim League polled 2097 votes.

Re-polling goes off without a hitch

The desert district of Tharparkar witnessed an election free of rigging and violence on Saturday as the re-polling in 47 polling stations in NA-229, NA-230, PS-62 and PS-63 constituencies ended peacefully. As many as 42,156 voters were registered to vote.

The only untoward incident happened when the supporters of a political party unsuccessfully tried to disrupt the polling at a station in Chachro town. The army responded in time and arrested a suspect for impeding the voting process.

Allegations of massive rigging, burning and stealing of ballot papers and violence disrupted the election process at these polling stations on May 11. This time around, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) deployed army and Rangers personnel at all the stations to prevent violence and rigging in the fresh polls.

Three seats in the constituencies were being contested by candidates of PPP and the influential Arbab family. Arbabs were supporting Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi on the fourth seat, NA-230.

Qureshi urged the ECP to take notice of the appointment of PPP supportive police officers and presiding staff in Chachro and Nangarparker tehsils prior to the re-polling.

“It’s so unfortunate that the PPP of Shaheed Zulfiqar Bhutto and Shaheed Benazir Bhutto has been brought to the brink by Zardari’s cabal that it has no confidence of wining without rigging even from Sindh,” he said while talking to reporters in Thar on Saturday.