Shahbaz Sharif forms measles control committee in Punjab

BAHAWALPUR: Chief Minister Punjab Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif has constituted 26-member Cabinet Committee on Measles Control for Punjab province that will be headed by Provincial Minister for Health Khalil Tahir Sindhu while Qazi Adnan Farid MPA from Bahawalpur has also been included as its member.

According to the notification of Punjab government, the committee would oversee all preparations and measures for measles control. It would hold meetings twice a week. Chief Minister will chair these meetings randomly.

It has also been stated that committee would be responsible for monitoring and implementation of the decisions by the Chief Minister taken in various meetings relating to all concerned departments.

Punjab Cabinet Committee would ensure that all arrangements were made and implemented smoothly. As per the notification, the committee would be fully independent to take decisions on behalf of the Chief Minister for any action for the control of measles in the province.

The committee consists of following members: Khalil Tahir Sindhu, Minister for Health Punjab (Convener), Khawaja Salman Rafique, Mohsin Latif MPA,Secretary Health, Secretary LG&CD, Secretary Environment, Secretary Higher Education, Secretary Schools Education, Secretary Information & Culture, Secretary Social Welfare, Secretary P&D, Chairman PITB, Commissioner Lahore, DCO Lahore, Special Secretary Health, Vice Chancellor KEMU, Dean Children’s Hospital, Director General Health Services, EhsanudDin Qureshi MPA (Multan), Sheikh Ejaz MPA (Faisalabad),Malik Arshad MPA (Sahiwal),Adnan Farid ( Bahawalpur),Ijaz Achlana MPA( Drea Ghazi Khan),Nawaz Chihan MPA ( Gujranwala),Rana Muhammad Hanif MPA ( Rawalpindi) and Mukhtar Bharat MPA ( Sargodha).