PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq took oath as NA speaker

ISLAMABAD: The member of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Ayaz Sadiq has been elected as the speaker of the National Assembly after bagging 258 votes on Monday.

On the other hand, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominee Shaharyar Afridi received 31 votes in total, while Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM)’s nominee SA Iqbal Qadri received a total of 23 votes.

For the post of the speaker, PTI nominated Shaharyar Afridi. However, on a reserved seat for the slot of deputy speakers Munazza Hassan and an MNA have been elected.

MQM had fielded SA Iqbal Chaudhry for the seat of speaker, and an MNA from reserved seat, Kishwar Zehra, as deputy speaker.

PPP nominated Mirpur Khas’ Nawab Yousuf as speaker and Ghulam Rasool Koreja for the post of deputy speaker but PPP withdrew the nominations last minute on PML-N’s request.

However, the voting has been presided by outgoing speaker Fehmida Mirza.