New Parliament sworn-in

ISLAMABAD: The newly elected legislators took oath today (Saturday, June 1, 2013) as the 14th National Assembly met for the first time marking the beginning of the new parliamentary year.

In a unique turn of events in the history of the country a smooth transition of power has taken place for the first time by a civilian government.

The outgoing Speaker, Dr Fehmida Mirza, Administered the oath to the MNAs-elect.

President of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Nawaz Sharif, was in the limelight sitting in the National Assembly after fourteen years. Alongside was Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan.

Special cards were issued to high-level civil and military officials, diplomats, and important personalities who witnessed the maiden session of National Assembly.

The security staff of the Parliament was present at the gates of the parliament to receive the newly elected MNAs after the identification, while elaborate security measures had been ensured within the building of the Parliament.

The MNAs elect were allotted seats and signed the roll as per Urdu alphabetical order. Parliamentary leaders were allotted seats in front rows.

A total of 318 members took oath and signed the roll. The total strength of the august House is 342 where 272 are filled with direct elections, while 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 for religious minorities.