Champions Trophy: England win toss, elect to bat

BIRMINGHAM: England have won the toss and elected to bat in the first group A match of the Champions Trophy against Australia at Edgbaston.

Swann pulled up with a sore back, with Finn left out on grounds of form. James Tredwell plays, as does Ravi Bopara, so England have already abandoned their five batsmen, five seamers masterplan in their first game of the tournament.

Australia, meanwhile, have named the same side that lost to India but that 200-plus margin in the warm-up fixture. Stand-in captain, George Bailey, seems chipper enough and think that being underdogs might suit them.

England: 1 Alastair Cook (capt), 2 Ian Bell, 3 Jonathan Trott, 4 Joe Root, 5 Eoin Morgan, 6 Ravi Bopara, 7 Jos Buttler (wk) 8 Tim Bresnan, 9 Stuart Broad, 10 James Tredwell, 11 James Anderson

Australia: 1 Shane Watson, 2 David Warner, 3 Phil Hughes, 4 George Bailey (capt), 5 Adam Voges, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 James Faulkner, 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Mitchell Starc, 11 Clint McKay