ECP orders recounting in NA-19 Haripur

KARACHI: The Election Commission Of Pakistan has has accepted a request filed by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and ordered recounting in the NA-19 Haripur constituency.

After losing against a Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate in the May 11 polls,
this request has been filed by Omar Ayub.

According to the report, the ECP reversed its recounting decision in NA-57 as well on Thursday, but on Friday, ECP finalized its decision and said that no re-count would take place in this constituency.

The request of Muttahida Deeni Mahaz candidate Maulana Ahmed Ludhanvi has also rejected by the ECP for a recount in NA-89 Jhang.

However, in the area of Qaidabad, where voting was interrupted and stopped after twin blasts on May 11, directives have issued to hold re-polls in six polling stations of the provincial assembly seat in this area, PS- 128.

The polling will be held in Razi Market, Bismillah Colony, Tauheedabad, Daud Chali and Firdous Chali areas, officials said.