Rehman Malik tops list of politicians who skipped power bill payments: IESCO

ISLAMABAD: According to Islamabad Electric Supply Company (IESCO) former interior minister Rehman Malik tops the list of politicians who have yet to pay their power bill.

The electric supply company issued a list on March 24 of former federal ministers who were guilty of not paying their bills. The list included more than 21 names some of which were famous politicians such as foreign minister Hina Rabbani Khar, former Punjab governor Sardar Latif Khosa and Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza.

Malik tops the list owing the company over Rs4.7 million. Khosa’s outstanding arrears total over Rs0.4 million while Mirza owes over Rs0.3 million to the electric supply company.

Former Chairman Senate and former Federal Law Minister Farooq H Naek is in debt of over Rs0.3 million. Other defaulters include former prime minister Shaukat Aziz, Former federal ministers Firdous Ashiq Awan, Sameera Malik, Sumsam Bukhari, Mian Manzoor Wattoo, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Ghous Bakhsh Mehar and Faisal Karim Kundi.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) sent the list to provincial election commissioners who will keep record for further investigation.

The ECP had earlier announced that anyone who was guilty of outstanding utility bills will not be eligible to participate in the upcoming polls.

Various authorities have now gained pace and are formulating list of defaulters to enable recovery of the payment before the elections.