Ashraf reveals government nominees for caretaker PM

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf nominated three names for the post of caretaker prime minister on Thursday.

Former finance minister Hafeez Shaikh, former governor of State Bank of Pakistan Dr Ishrat Hussain and Justice (retired) Mir Hazar Khoso were nominated by the premier.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and its like-minded opposition groups had earlier nominated Justice (retd) Nasir Aslam Zahid, Justice (retd) Shakirullah Jan and Rasool Bux Paleejo for the office.

Constitutionally, an interim prime minister has to be chosen by the leader of the house and leader of the opposition in the National Assembly with consensus.

The government had vehemently criticized the opposition’s nominees for the caretaker prime minister.