Pakistan cricket icons to play in National T20 Super Eight from next week

Some of Pakistan’s most famous Test and One-day International (ODI) players will feature in the T20 Super Eight cricket tournament starting Tuesday March 26. The event is the third and the last of its kind organized under the 3-year partnership between Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and Faysal Bank

After ending their tour to South Africa with the fifth ODI in Benoni on March 24, our national team will return to Pakistan the following day. Star players Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik and Sohail Tanvir will have practically no break as they are set to captain their assigned teams, Karachi Dolphins, Lahore Lions, Faisalabad Wolves, Abbottabad Falcons, Sialkot Stallions and Rawalpindi Rams, respectively.

Despite rumors that Afridi had refused to take part, Zakir Khan, PCB’s Director Domestic Operations, insists that all the players mentioned above have agreed to participate.

The PCB is determined in its attempt to improve the standard of domestic cricket in the country. Its informants announced that eight teams, divided into two groups, will play off against each other. Group A will consist of Lahore Lions, Sialkot Stallions, Multan Tigers and Abbottabad Falcons while Group B will include Faisalabad Wolves, Bahawalpur Stags, Rawalpindi Rams and Karachi Dolphins.

There will be 3matches everyday and 15 in total, from March 26 to 31, to be held at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

The champions will be rewarded Rs2.5 million while the runners-up will take home Rs1 million.

Misbah-ul-Haq’s Faisalabad Wolves and Bilal Khilji’s Bahawalpur Stags will be the first to take the pitch on March 26.

It’s a win-win situation. All the best to our favorite cricketers.