National Assembly dissolved on completion of term

ISLAMABAD: National Assembly of Pakistan was dissolved Saturday on completion of its five years constitutional term said a notification issued by Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

“In pursuance of Article 52 of the Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the National Assembly stands dissolved on the expiration of its term of five years on the 16th day of March, 2013,” the notification said.

The 13th National Assembly of Pakistan was sworn in on March 17, 2008 by the then Speaker Chaudhry Amir Hussain. A few days later, the election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker was held.

As a result of this election, the first woman Speaker of Muslim world Dr Fehmida Mirza had taken the seat and held elections for Deputy Speaker as the House had elected Faisal Karim Kundi, as her Deputy.

This was the first ever democratically elected National Assembly of Pakistan that has completed its five years tenure successfully, paving way for strong democratic norms. Under the Constitution, the assembly automatically stands dissolved on completion of its tenure.

The credit for this milestone goes to all political forces, especially President Asif Ali Zardari, the PPPP led coalition and opposition parties particularly the major opposition party PML-N.

Another feather in the cap of this assembly is that it completed Golden Jubilee of sessions by meeting 50 times during the last five years and remained in session for 665 days.

The Assembly led by two Leaders of the House, Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani and Raja Pervez Ashraf also had the credit to enact maximum legislation.

Braving all odds, turmoil and threats of dissolution, the House successfully reached the benchmark as its members had also commended the sagacity of top political leadership in the country on the last day of its concluding session on March 14, 2013.