Interim PM: Parliamentary committee’s meeting underway

ISLAMABAD: A bipartisan 8-member committee of parliament mulling over the selection of interim premier after the government and opposition failed to decide the name.

A parliamentary committee has until Friday to select a candidate to head up a caretaker administration, which will formally steer the country towards the ballot box.

It was given the job after Pakistan Peoples Party and Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) failed to reach an agreement on a name by Tuesday.

The members of committee from government includes Khursheed Shah, Farooq H.Naek, Ghulam Ahmed balour, Chaudhry Shujaat while opposition team comprises of Mehtab Abbasi, Khwaja Saad Rafique, Sardar Yaqoob Nasir, Pervez Rasheed

If the committee failed to reach any decision then election commission of Pakistan would elect a member from the given nominees.