Interim Cabinet to take oath today, Sindh

KARACHI: The 18-member Sindh cabinet will take oath at the Governor House on Saturday (today).

Caretaker Chief Minister Justice (retd) Zahid Kurban Alavi and Sindh Governor Dr Ishratul Ebad finalised the names of the provincial ministers and advisers after week-long consultations.

According to sources, 16 ministers and two advisers selected for the cabinet are non-political as most of them belong to the business community, are social workers or technocrats. They will be running the affairs of the Sindh government till the induction of the new government.

Those who will take oath as ministers are: former chairman of Sindh Board of Revenue Shakeeb Qureshi, social worker Anees Haroon, businessmen Nawab Qulb Hussain Lahori, Muhammad Sharif Ansari, Sardar Khan Khoso, Mehmood Mandiwala, Iqbal Dawood, Rais Ghulam Qasim Jaskani, Dr Junaid Ali Shah, Sardar Yasin Malik, Shabbar Zaidi, Khalid Tawab, Dr NK Lohani, Khalid Latif, writer Noorul Huda Shah and Abdul Qadeer Chuhan. Mian Zahid Hussain and Anees Farooqi would be sworn in as advisers to the chief minister.

Sources say all arrangements for the oath-taking ceremony have been finalised and invitations have been dispatched to the guests.