Three PML-N leaders from Jhelum join PPP

KARACHI: Two sitting members of the National Assembly and one former MNA belonging to the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) joined the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) on Saturday.

The three PML-N leaders from Jhelum announced their joining at a press conference at PPP Media Cell, Bilawal House, after a meeting with PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and MNA Madam Faryal Talpur. Federal Minister for Religious Affairs Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah, Senator Saeed Ghani and Sindh Information Minister Sharjeel Inam Memon were also present.

Raja Muhammad Afzal Khan had been elected four times as MNA in 1985, 1988, 1993, 1997 and as a member of Senate in 1991 on PML-ticket from Jehlum. He is a founding member of PML-N , a member of Central Executive Committee of PML-N and a member of the Parliamentary Board of PML-N since its inception.

Raja Muhammad Asad Khan has been elected as MNA twice on PML-N ticket from NA-63 Jhelum in 2002 and 2008, while Raja Muhammad Safder was elected as MNA from NA-62 Jhelum in 2008 on PML-N ticket.

Raja Muhammad Afzal Khan and other two MNAs, who are his sons, reposed full confidence in the PPP leadership and assured that they would make their best efforts to strengthen the party.

Raja Muhammad Afzal Khan said that a group of MPAs from Punjab elected on the PML-N tickets would also join the PPP soon.Madam Faryal Talpur said that more political leaders from different parts of the country, belonging to various parties, would announce their joining of the PPP shortly.